Controversies always follow South Africa vs Australia Test matches. At Lord’s, in the WTC Final 2025, it wasn’t very different. But Australia captain Pat Cummins avoided a major controversy by not pursuing an appeal against David Bedingham for obstructing the field.
The on-field umpires, Chris Gaffaney and Richard Illingworth, had a discussion and deemed it not out. Cummins did not ask for a review or even tried to push the umpires to refer it to the TV umpire, giving Bedingham a lifeline. The fiasco centred on whether the ball was dead or still in play, as Usman Khawaja appealed.
What happened?
In the 49th over of the SA vs AUS WTC Final, Beau Webster’s delivery took an inside edge off David Bedingham’s bat. The ball got lodged in his pads. As Australia wicketkeeper Alex Carey approached the ball to catch it, Bedingham handled the ball and dropped it on the ground before Carey could catch it.
Usman Khawaja made a muffled appeal as the umpires decided to have a discussion. Illingworth said not out. As Cummins did not pursue the appeal further, the matter ended there. But on social media, the debates raged on.
What does the MCC Law say?
The controversy was about whether the ball was already dead. Through replays, it seemed the ball was still in play as it was moving. Many pointed at MCC’s Dead Ball Law 20.2, which states, “Whether the ball is finally settled or not is a matter for the umpire alone to decide.” In this case, the umpires decided that the ball was dead.
Some pointed out MCC Law 37 on Obstructing the Field. As per the Law 37.3.1 “If the delivery is not a No ball, the striker is out Obstructing the field if wilful obstruction or distraction by either batter prevents the striker being out Caught.“
However, going by MCC’s Dead Ball Rule 20.1.1.4 and 20.1.1.5, the ball would have been deemed dead, as Matthew Hayden also pointed out. In that case, the batter would not be obstructing the field.
The ball is dead
20.1.1.4: Whether played or not it becomes trapped between the bat and person of a batter or between items of his/her clothing or equipment.
20.1.1.5: Whether played or not it lodges in the clothing or equipment of a batter or the clothing of an umpire.
As the ball got lodged in Bedingham’s pad, which is equipment, the ball was not in play. It was considered dead. Thus, the umpires were right to call it a dead ball. By that logic, Bedingham was not out.
The post Was David Bedingham out in WTC Final? What does MCC law say about obstructing the field? appeared first on Inside Sport India.